iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

I need some info on cutting

Started by KjBarnwood, July 08, 2008, 01:46:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KjBarnwood

OK, I've been cutting on my B-20 for 3 years now, 99.9% reclaimed barn beams.  Since there is no such thing as cutting for grade on these I need some things cleared up.

Do most people cut for grade or just plain saw through.  I do understand cutting for grade and read the posts on quarter sawing, but what do most people do?

What if I have a 14" dia oak, cherry, or walnut?  It almost seems too small to cut for grade?  Should I assume that logs over 17" are all cut to grade?

What about pine that is 14" dia or 30"?

Most of what I want to cut now will be for me to use in the next year or two.  Some for building a house and some for finish work.

Thanks
     Keith

Larry

In some species the price difference tween say a F1F and a 1c board could be $1/bf.  You will get more high grade boards by grade sawing than by through sawing.  So the question is which would you rather be doing?

Most any size log can be grade sawn...course the board footage slows way down on the small 10" logs.  Guess you need to determine which markets you want to cater to.  A small walnut log can make money as flooring cants...a small oak might be better suited to farm lumber or a post/beam.

As a matter of preference I saw most any log larger than 12" for grade.
Larry, making useful and beautiful things out of the most environmental friendly material on the planet.

We need to insure our customers understand the importance of our craft.

beenthere

There is an interesting report on Live-sawing red oak low-grade logs that was found in a search of publications on live grade hardwood sawing in the US Forest Service Forest Products Lab site.
http://www.fpl.fs.fed.us/

The conclusion was to live saw logs of grade 3 (FS standard log grade) and below, if edging for grade was exercised. see

www.fpl.fs.fed.us/documnts/pdf1987/casse87a.pdf