iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Fire at Scott Smith's Shop

Started by JackLeg, June 29, 2008, 08:51:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JackLeg

Being a newbie here, I don't know if this is where you should post this or not.  But, here goes anyway.

Scott Smith, (scsmith42) one of your Senior members, had a devastating fire at his shop last week.  Pretty much a total loss of the building an contents, and Scott had some NICE tools.  Lots of Festool and other good stuff.  Also a couple of motorcycles involved and not sure what else.

Just letting you folks know.  Scott is one heck of a nice guy.  He's been very helpful to me with his advice on drying lumber and encouraging me to buld a solar kiln.

You can see the pics of the fire and read about it on ncwoodworker.net.  Just an FYI.

scsmith42

Reggie - thanks for the kind words and post.  Ditto back at you.

Scott
Peterson 10" WPF with 65' of track
Smith - Gallagher dedicated slabber
Tom's 3638D Baker band mill
and a mix of log handling heavy equipment.

LOGDOG

Scott,

So sorry for your loss. That's just plain awful. I've cleared it with the wife. If we can be of any help in the clean up or re-raising or anything you just let us know when it's going to be and we'll be there. Seriously. You're one of my favorite members here at the Forum - always offering positive re-enforcement to others when needed. Time for us to offer it back. Keep your chin up.

LOGDOG

TexasTimbers

Scott,

I'm terribly sorry to hear this. I have alot of double and triple stuff. I bet others here do also. Maybe this is not appropriate to suggest I don't know, but when you have time to make a list of things you need I would be happy to send you some from my abundance.

I mean that in the sense that God has blessed me with more tools than I need. I also inherited quite a few from my FIL so I have many doubles and even some triples. I'm more than happy to share some with someone in need, so let me know.