iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Experience with hewing a log

Started by FrankLad, June 09, 2008, 03:56:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

FrankLad

Was out visiting with my parents this weekend and decided to hew a log.  Good thing we carry most all our tools in the back of our Toyota Camry.  :)  (In this case felling axe, tape measure, pencil, level, square, and chalk line)

As mentioned in a previous posting, I had plans to make some hickory handles and find a broad axe head.  Well, come to find out, dad had an old broad axe hiding out in their shed.  Handle and all.  I was delighted.

It was badly pitted so I took a wire brush to it.  Then I hit it a few times with a grinder (careful not to get it too hot) and worked it with a file.  Certainly not as sharp as it could have been - and I'm no expert on sharpening to begin with - but it was in better shape, cutting-wise, than when I had found it.

This wasn't a very large log.  Was looking for something just enough to get a 6x6 out of.

After reading sections from three different books on the subject, I decided it was OK to do layout and hewing with the bark on.  I figured since we didn't drag it out of the woods (was carried) I didn't have to worry about the axe-dulling-on-embedded-dirt problem, and hewing with the bark would eliminate the peeling step altogether.  I was curious as to the accuracy of with-bark vs. without-bark, but the way it turned out, I think I'll want to hew with the bark on whenever possible.

Anyhow, I set it up on a couple of blocks and "chocked" it.  No log dogs...  Just kept it stable enough that I could do layout without it moving.  Marked plumb/level lines (starting on smallest end), and snapped longitude lines, connecting the two ends.