iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Drying shed

Started by metalspinner, June 07, 2008, 10:06:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

metalspinner

Can you guys help me (in cyberspace ;) ) build a drying shed? :D

I'm at the point where I need a drying shed.  What I will actually built is a carport that wood will be stored under.  The area where the wood is currently stored is about 20x20, so a shed just large enough to cover this is prefered. I would like to add extra bays later as neccesity and materials alocation dictate. ;)

I am a newbie at construction type work, and have no formal training in building stuctures...just read books, seen pics of buildings you guys have built, and general knowledge of stick framing.

I am considering a pole type construction, though the only wood available to me are large poplars.  Is pouring concrete peers with brackets on top to hold square posts a good foundation for this type of building?

My guess is to use 6x6 posts on 10 foot centers. I am wanting a rather high ceiling at about 10-12'.

Can the roof girters be as small as 2x8's on each side of the post?

Can the truss material be full sized 2x4 with plywood gussets? Or should I go with 2x6's?

The first thing is milling the poplars.  I have about 3500BF in logs from 10-20' in length and need to make sure I cut the correct dimensions.  Smaller dimensional sized pieces are much easier to come buy in my urban logging quest, so getting the larger elements right from these logs is critical at this stage.

Any and all opinions would be appreciated. :)
I do what the little voices in my wife's head tell me to do.

brdmkr

I am sure no construction expert, but I have store bought trusses that are all 2x4 and they span 25 feet with no problem.  I think you can go to 30 - 32 feet with 2x4 trusses. 
Lucas 618  Mahindra 4110, FEL and pallet forks, some cant hooks, and a dose of want-to

WDH

MS,