iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

How long does it take to make most joints, on average

Started by Thackery, May 31, 2008, 10:24:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thackery

I'm new to tf and I am working to replace damaged areas of my barn.
I really like the work, but it seems to take me a lot of time per joint.
It maybe the tools I  have, or don't have but I'm curious how quickly someone that knows what they are doing can turn out.
I have a "Hole Hog" to bore with,  but for nearly everything else I am using hand tools.

I'm sure I do a lot of things like a newbie.
My chisels, I'm sure are not as sharp as they could be.   I have trouble cutting cross grains.
I am using white oak for the repairs,   and the existing frame is chestnut and oak.

Today I was working on a simple dovetail.   The tenon is not a problem,  but the mortise took a while.
I usually try to remove as much wood as possible with boring, and I will saw several kerfs to allow chips to break out.
However,   on the mortise of the dovetail I seemed to have a lot of chisel work.
Due to pocket of the mortise I felt that I had to go around and around the sides of the pocket to move out the wood.
How should I have handled this????

Maybe someone can point at a previous post in the forum that may help me out.

I have the Sobon tf books but was actually suprised that there was not more instruction on the actual woodworking of jointery. 

Thanks a bunch.   This is a great forum.

Thackery

Dave Shepard

There are so many variables it is hard to say how long a joint should take. I've watched Jack Sobon do a tenon on a timber during a demostration that would take me four times as long, and that was while talking about what he was doing the whole time. If your tools aren't sharp, you can really get frustrated. I've spent the last few nights working on tuning my wood working tools, and have a lot more to do. Hand tools aren't necessarily slower, especially when properly tuned and you have gained experience.