iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

first timer got more than he bargained for when he opened the germination box

Started by Lanier_Lurker, April 06, 2008, 10:48:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lanier_Lurker

I'm new at this.  I've taken the advice from some of the kind folks here, mixed in a little guesswork on my part, and now I have more germinated acorns than I can deal with.  :D

The Northern Red Oak and the Scarlet Oak are particularly vigorous - and the Shumard Oak are doing pretty good as well.  Here is a picture from one of the boxes containing Scarlet and Shumard acorns.

In this picture most of what you see sprouted is Scarlet Oak, but there is one Shumard Oak in the upper center of the picture that has popped out.

I was able to get 4 dozen potted today before I ran out of potting containers.  Hope the ones I left in there can hold out for a while until I get more pots.

I'm still waiting on the hickories.... ???

Sprucegum

WDH

Woodmizer LT40HDD35, John Deere 2155, Kubota M5-111, Kubota L2501, Nyle L53 Dehumidification Kiln, and a passion for all things with leafs, twigs, and bark.  hamsleyhardwood.com

SwampDonkey

"No amount of belief makes something a fact." James Randi

1 Thessalonians 5:21

2020 Polaris Ranger 570 to forward firewood, Husqvarna 555 XT Pro, Stihl FS560 clearing saw and continuously thinning my ground, on the side. Grow them trees. (((o)))

SeeSaw

That looks real nice!  I have tried to do this myself with little success.  I would like to hear your technique also.
Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, completely worn out and loudly proclaiming, WHAT A RIDE...!

Lanier_Lurker

Quote from: WDH on April 07, 2008, 07:57:06 PM
Could you explain your technique?