iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New Saw Advice

Started by oregon101, February 14, 2008, 12:33:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

oregon101

I'm currently shopping for a new saw.  I will be using it primarily for cutting  firewood and while camping.   I will be cutting 4-5 cords a year.   I'm considering the following saws:
Husky 350-the local dealer has 2 demo saws left with warranty for $290
Husky 346XP New Addition-$480 from local dealer
Husky 450e-$380 from local dealer
Stihl 260 Pro-$539 from local dealer
I'm not a pro in any way but have worked in the logging industry years ago and appreciate good tools.  Locally I have one Husky dealer but 3 Stihl dealers.  Latter this year I will be getting a larger saw for the real big stuff but money has me starting with smaller saw.  Any help will be appreciated.  Thanks!

pappy19

You might look at a Shindiawa as they have some great light weight powerful saws. Look at their 352s and 377s.
2008 F-250 V-10
2007 Lincoln LT
1996 Ford Bronco
Kubota 900 RTV
Shindiawa fan

z71mike

There's no simple answer without personal preference coming into the picture.  But what I will say is you can make a logical decision on your own by looking at a very important factor.

How proficient/interested are you with doing your own maintenance?  With 3 Stihl shops and 1 Husky shop.....
Not very - buy a Stihl
Somewhat - Stihl or Husky
Completely - any brand

Once you dial in what the logical choice is, then you can start looking at features and prices.

ladylake

Out of the list you gave the Husky 346NE, it will cut way faster than the others and is a Pro saw that should last. The Stihl MS260 is also a good saw but slower and way over priced.  The other 2 Huskys a homeowner models that are underpowered and almost all plastic.  Steve