iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Need help on engine size for Mighty Mite bandmill - Longish

Started by rfalk, January 24, 2008, 03:02:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rfalk

Hi,
I have been reading the forum for some months now and have learned a lot. I thank all of you for that.  I now have some questions regarding engine size for my bandmill and would appreciate any advice you can give.

I have a late 80's Mighty Mite III that I purchased used last fall. Its pretty heavy duty, trailered, with hydraulically driven feed and carriage. It has 18' wheels, a 2" blade (13'10" long), and is powered by an 18hp Kohler Magnum engine (runs both the blade and hydraulics).

I am a hobbyist and am not looking at production sawing, however I would like to get to the point where I could quarter saw some of the bigger oaks that come my way, if possible.  I have sawn a few smaller (12") black cherries and the mill seemed to saw straight and without waves....well, that is, after I got the blades sharpened properly and got the feed rate correct. More recently, I have tried to saw frozen white oak and had nothing but trouble. Wandering cuts and stopped the blade several times in a 10" wide cant.

I realize my blades might not be ideal for frozen white oak (0.020" set and 10 degree hook), but they were sharp (brand new, in fact). While blades may be part of my problem, my question to all of you is: Am I underpowered? Or, conversely, am I running too wide a blade?

I am thinking of replacing the 18hp (30 ft-lbs of torque) with a 30 hp Kohler V-Twin (47.5 ft-lbs of torque). I called Mighty Mite and their current model (IIIa) has a 25hp engine....they thought more power would help, but thought anything over 30hp would be unnecessary. They also suggested that I could go to a 1-1/4" blade....however, their conversion kit to do so is $1400.