iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

High School Wood SHop Projects

Started by shinnlinger, January 20, 2008, 08:13:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

shinnlinger

Folks,

I just stumbled on his forum and have already picked up some good pointers and ideas.  THanks.

I teach among other things, woodshop at the local high school.  I am in my third year of this and things are definatly getting beter, but I have some students that just dont care.  It seems to be an epidemic these days, and I know It will never go completly away, but I want to show the kids real skills that they can use in the real world.

I also want them to make something that is both within their ability to make in a realativly short period of time, but challenging enough so they feel a sense of accomplishment.  It is disheartening to see projects left at the end of the semester.  Obviuosly they kids didn't want to bring their stuff home.

ANy way, my question is this.  What do you feel are important skills for the student's to learn?(I have to spend at least a weak teaching how to measure), ANd, I am always open to project ideas that are small, not too complex, but something that the kids will find interesting and challenging. 

I should ad, Wood working magazines (unless I am missing one) are rarely a good source of ideas for the shop as they showcase meuseam peices that seem to intimidate rather than inspire and would be outside the scope of what we can do in a semester of 45 minute classes.  The time frame also rules out using alot of handtools and artistic carving endeavors.

Thanks for any and all input and ideas.
Shinnlinger
Woodshop teacher, pasture raised chicken farmer
34 horse kubota L-2850, Turner Band Mill, '84 F-600,
living in self-built/milled timberframe home

Patty

We have a guy on here who is a wonderful craftsman and shopteacher. Go to his profile:  Shopteacher   and look at his previous posts and photo gallery. His kids have accomplished many great projects over the years.