iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Edgers

Started by shopteacher, May 04, 2003, 09:05:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

shopteacher

I'm new to the milling world (bought a used LT40hyd about a year ago)  and have been wondering about edging boards. Do you edge them when they come off the mill? If so, don't they bow during drying and isn't that a waste of time and energy?  Has anyone built an edger or seen any type of plans for doing so?  I've seen the edgers from WM and a couple others, but really didn't want to invest that much money at this time.  I have read a lot of good threads here on the forum and just like to thank all who participate. I teach high school wood shop and it great to pass on  information to students no matter what their age. Thanks
GC
Proud owner of a LT40HDSE25, Corley Circle mill, JD 450C, JD 8875, MF 1240E
Tilt Bed Truck  and well equipted wood shop.

Percy

Years ago, I seen a home made edger that was made out of a heavyduty table saw. The guy had a couple of springloaded, driven rollers on top and some kind of free rolling rollers on the bottom. He had to make two passes with this unit to completely edge a flitch. On the second pass, the board would be against a moveable fence. Seemed to work good when I looked at it.

Fow lower production  cutting on your mill, sorting the flitches in to common  width sized piles that are also the same length can be C clamped at each end and edged quite efficiently on your mill. I used a system like this for quite some time and only hit one c clamp adjuster pin type thingie.  If you have lots of stacks prepared, and several c clamps and a good helper, it goes fast. Still not as efficient as an edger because the mill is not cutting a fresh log.
GOLDEN RULE : The guy with the gold, makes the rules.

Sawyerfortyish