iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Should I buy a chainsaw mill?

Started by peter nap, January 05, 2008, 10:59:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

peter nap

I am starting a Pole Barn that has turned into a post and beam Barn and I expect will turn into a full timber frame barn. :o

I'm an experienced carpenter and I am brand new to timber framing except for several traditional boats I built. In other words, I know nothing and freely admit it!

After pricing beams, siding, etc, I have started to wonder if it wouldn't be cheaper to buy a chainsaw and mill attachment, (I have a couple of saws but my biggest is a Husky 445 and I don't think it's up to the job}....and cut my own lumber. I have trees.

Any opinions and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

gharlan

I will confess that I have never seen a chainsaw mill work. I do use a chainsaw to quarter the logs that will not fit on my little band mill.  I am impressed at how quickly I can rip a 40 inch oak log. It is extremely slow however compared with how quickly the band cuts through that same log. My mill is a manual one that I have had for about 9 months. It works great but I already dream of one with hydraulics because handling the log is a lot of work. I suspect the chain mill would be even more work. I have no doubt that the chain mill can produce good lumber, but I bet you would be happier if you could scout around and find a good used band mill. You could always sell it after you are finished and recoup your money, if you can tolerate letting it go after you use it. If you ask around here maybe you can find someone around here that has both close to you and you can watch them in action and get your own feel for what would work best for you.  good luck and happy sawing

peter nap

Thanks Garlin. A small mill is going to be a little more than I want to put into it.

It just occurred to me that I should have put this in chainsaws instead. I'm going to post it there so please ignore this one.

Tom

Peter,