iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Western NY forester/logger recommendations please

Started by TGofWNY, December 30, 2007, 06:14:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TGofWNY

Hey yall, I am new to the "landowner" life - 134 acres in Cattaraugus county (western NY). I want to start planning for the future of the property. I dont want to just let a logger go in and get me the most money for my timber. I want to do what's best for the long term health of the property (and my bank account). Picking a forester/logger when you know very little about it is a daunting task, so I'm hoping to get some recommendations here. Thanks in advance. - Tom

Ron Scott

Contact your local Conservation District Forester or DNR Service Forester or a Professional Consulting Forester serving your area for advice and recommendations. You might want to have a Landowner Forest Stewardship Plan completed for your property to establish the management direction to meet your desired objectives. 
~Ron

Craig

Quote from: TGofWNY on December 30, 2007, 06:14:59 PM
Hey yall, I am new to the "landowner" life - 134 acres in Cattaraugus county (western NY). I want to start planning for the future of the property. I dont want to just let a logger go in and get me the most money for my timber. I want to do what's best for the long term health of the property (and my bank account). Picking a forester/logger when you know very little about it is a daunting task, so I'm hoping to get some recommendations here. Thanks in advance. - Tom

Check out http://www.nyfoa.org/ New York Forest Owners Association. I am sure they could help you out.

Craig
Craig Martin
C.S. Martin Forest Contracting
Life, Liberty and Justice For All.
(This includes Americans)

Ever Green