iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Mold Help!

Started by Brad_bb, September 10, 2007, 01:16:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brad_bb

I'm a newbie.  I peeled my first log one week ago today.  It was a Norway spruce that was blown down in a storm.  I debarked the log as recommended on this site(sticky job).  I put it in the barn and I returned today to find mold growing on it.  Obviously It's dark in the barn and the mold is feeding on the sugars of the sap.  What should i do to stop this?  I don't want it all stained.  Do I spray it with somthing?  I plan to use it as a post in a timberframe if I can.  Thank you, Brad_bb
Anything someone can design, I can sure figure out how to fix!
If I say it\\\\\\\'s going to take so long, multiply that by at least 3!

BBTom

I don't know this as a fact, but I guess that 4 oz. of clorox in a garden sprayer of water would kill the mold without causing much bleaching. 
2001 LT40HDD42RA with lubemizer, debarker, laser, accuset. Retired, but building a new shop and home in Missouri.

Don P

Bleach, diesel fuel (yeah I know), or sapstain preventers will all help to poison the food supply. Schroeders retails the sapstain preventers, sawmill and woodlot usually has some ads too.

Denying moisture is another way, dry the surface faster.

Denying oxygen is another, keep it under water or under a spray. Not really what you want to do here though.

That's the three ways to prevent sapstain.

Dale Hatfield

I have heard of some having luck by spraying with a soap solution and let it dry. Never tried
Dale
Game Of Logging trainer,  College instructor of logging/Tree Care
Chainsaw Carver

Brad_bb

Help me out.  What is Schroeder's and woodlot, Don?
Anything someone can design, I can sure figure out how to fix!
If I say it\\\\\\\'s going to take so long, multiply that by at least 3!

beenthere

Sawmill and Woodlot is a forum sponsor (see left column) and magazine,  and Shroeder is a log-home supply company that sells the sapstain preventer.