Hickman County TN does not allow samill (Green Lumber in cabin construction)

Started by just_sawing, September 05, 2007, 06:32:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

just_sawing

I could not believe what I was told by the county goverment of Hickman County TN. If it is a cabin even one in the woods that you are only going to use during hunting season I was told that sawmill lumber is illeagal. This is a crooked traversty. I have been sawing for 15 years and the normal lumber that I turn out is above 84 lumbers best. I start with number one or two logs sawing poplar for use where it is legal to use what westeners call pith fir.
I have no problem with standards that are fair but the trash that you are forced to use is not even comparable to what I sell 30 % less.
I imagine that Hickmans county officals probably own lumber yards.
You can follow me at
www.http://haneyfamilysawmill.com

Dave Shepard

What about timber and log construction? You kinda hafta use green, in fact, I wouldn't do it any other way. Are they specifically prohibiting green lumber, or just lumber that is not stamped? If using 2x construction, I would want it at least air dried, not green off the mill. It sounds like it is time to get together with other mill owners and educate the building inspectors. I know the feeling of digging through the piles of construction lumber at the lumber yard for stuff that is usable. :(

Dave
Wood-Mizer LT40HDD51-WR Wireless, Kubota L48, Honda Rincon 650, TJ208 G-S, and a 60"LogRite!

Dan_Shade

you may be able to have a notarized statement of what you are doing put into the deed at the courthouse.  some counties allow this.  the building codes are supposed to protect the next person.
Woodmizer LT40HDG25 / Stihl 066 alaskan
lots of dull bands and chains

There's a fine line between turning firewood into beautiful things and beautiful things into firewood.

Don P