iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

The Wood floor install Job

Started by RK Ron, September 01, 2007, 10:19:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RK Ron

BIG celebration tonight- just came home today w/45 square feet of hand made flooring installed!  Yessiree, I've arrived- peaked- pinnacled and realized what few could ever dream-contracted  a owners logs to lumber to kiln dry to random width flooring to install.  (Did I mention 45 sq. ft. took 4 1/2 hrs.?)  Yep, only 1055 square feet to go...  Figure time wise (running solo) I should wrap this puppy up before CHRIST'S return...
Good LORD this is time consumin'.  Even if I use my head, move the saw and flooring closer to me and drink a bucket of coffee, I still will only realize 20 sq. ft. per hour.  Granted, this is my first time @ bat (I hope the owners aren't reading this..) and there is culling going on, but  I don't recall reading this part in any of the brochures I've been lookin' at.
So what's the expectation square footage wise per hour to install?   Using a air hammer nailer, miter saw,  3/4" oak t&g random width 2 aspirin @ lunch, 2 beers when I get home-
RKRON

sawdust

RK you will be so pleased when you get done! And you may get to experience washerwomans knees too.
I have only installed purchased hardwood flooring, stuff you mill and mould yourself would be even better.

sawdust
comforting the afflicted and afflicting the comfortable.

Tom Sawyer

Around here floor installers are getting $4 a sqft.  So, at 20 ft per hour you are making $80 an hour!  Not bad ;D

sawdust

Thats what our installers are making too. Even if they are putting down that snap together floating stuff. I have no idea how anyone can afford to build a house today. Possibly they earn WAY more than me!

sawdust
comforting the afflicted and afflicting the comfortable.

Kelvin