iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

loading portable manual...

Started by joshua5, April 13, 2003, 09:16:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

joshua5

newbie here and i must say - wow, this is a great site!!  friend of mine and i have a custom ripsaw band with a 22" throat capacity.  it's slow, but a ton of fun!  unfortunately i've been infected and as soon as the school loans are paid off (many years), i may just wind up buying something a little easier/faster.  done a lot of research on the lt15, norwood, and timberking 1220.  enough history...

i have a question - if you have a manual bandmill with the trailer package, how do you get the log onto the bed of the mill?  it lowers and the wheels come off the trailer?  you have to saw with 47 of your closest friends to get the log up on the bed?  thanks for your replys.

ohsoloco

I just slide the wheels out of the axle on my Norwood.  The rails are now pretty close to the ground...maybe a foot high?  At first I used slabs and 4x4's as ramps, but then found some sign posts lying around on top of an old lumber pile in the yard.  I doubled them up and use two sets of these as my ramps....the angle I roll the log up is very low, and the "ramps" have already supported a two ton log I rolled up.

ohsoloco

Josh, according to your profile you're from PA...what part?

biziedizie

ohsoloco can ya post a pic of your ramp. I'm doing it the hard way and need a better way to do it.

Steve

ohsoloco

It's not much of a ramp...it's still the hard way  :D   I actually stripped off a few inches of soil where my mill sits, so that it sits a little lower.  When I want to load a log I pick up a pair of the sign posts that are stacked together, set one end on the ground and one end on the rail, then grap the other and do the same.  Log loaded, put the "ramps" aside till the next log.  

These sign posts look like this in cross section:

_/`````````\_

joshua5