iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Chainsaw questions (facts or myths?)

Started by Warbird, August 03, 2007, 12:18:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Warbird

Hey guys,

I've searched around here and elsewhere, so apologies ahead of time if some of this stuff has been definitively answered and I just missed it.  I've got lots of questions.  Yes, I've been using chainsaws for many years now but I imagine some of these will make me sound like a newbie.

I've never received 'proper' training with chainsaws.  Back in the mid-80's (I was ~15 years old), my dad lost his job and we lived a couple of years in a cabin with no water or electric and just wood for heat.  That was my introduction to wood cutting.  Needless to say, we froze a lot.  The cabin was holey, drafty, and the roof wasn't insulated well at all.  So we got a quick and ugly introduction to heating with wood and cutting firewood in extreme cold.  Basically, dad borrowed a chainsaw and I was the only kid old enough to help him cut wood.  When we were cutting in the winter and he got froze up, I'd pick up the chainsaw and get to work while he warmed up (nothing like the vibration of a chainsaw numbing your body when you're already freezing!!).

Now that you know my background...  ;D  I figure it's high time I learned what others have to say about chainsawing.  If all of this is answered in some guide somewhere, please direct me to it?  Thanks!

Questions:

Drop starting: good or bad?  Is it really just a matter of opinion?  I've read some people who swear by it and others who think drop starting is a sign of the end times.  I've never used giant chainsaws.  My current one is a Stihl 270c with a 20" bar.  I usually start it by placing it on the ground, setting it to full choke, and cranking it until it stutters.  Then I pick it up, turn off the choke, and drop start it.