iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

MARKETING YOUR SAWMILL

Started by Moulder, March 26, 2003, 05:22:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Moulder

OK GUYS, TO SAY THAT I'M NEW TO THIS IS A UNDERSTATEMENT,.I BOUGHT MY MILL TO SLAB LUMBER AS I TURN BOWLS. I FOUND THAT I LIKED SAWING LUMBER, SO LIKE A FOOL I PUT A AD IN THE PAPER SOMETHING LIKE THIS "WILL CUT YOUR LOGS IN TO LUMBER FOR FREE CALL*******" .DONT EVER EVER EVER DO THIS, I HAD ABOUT 20 CALLS IN 2 DAYS UNFORTUNATELY MOST PEOPLE WANTED ME TO CUT DOWN THE TREES. I DID COME UP WITH ABOUT 4 JOBS WHICH ACTUALLY 2 TURNED INTO PAYING JOBS. THE QUESTION I NEED ANSWERED IS HOW TO EFFECTIVELY MARKET MYSELF. THANKS FOR ANY AND ALL HELP
RANDY

Jeff

WILL CUT YOUR LOGS IN TO LUMBER FOR FREE CALL********

I think your doing great. You certainly know how to get their attention. :D
Just call me the midget doctor.
Forestry Forum Founder and Chief Cook and Bottle Washer.

Commercial circle sawmill sawyer in a past life for 25yrs.
Ezekiel 22:30

Moulder

A MANS GOT DO WHAT A MANS GOT TO DO
RANDY

Minnesota_boy

I wondered why my nun=mber of calls for sawing had dropped off! :D
I eat a high-fiber diet.  Lots of sawdust!

Tom

Moulder, :
In all seriousness  :D :D for free? :D snicker :D    
All you gotta do is let the word out that you have a sawmill and they will just about knock your door down.

Sawmilling with these little mills, I assume you have a bandmill, is a great business.  You could do it on weekends with partial payment being blanks of pretty local wood.

You need to come up with a charging scheme.  Most of us use one of these.  Logs are generally specified as being on the ground, cut to lenth and ramped.  That way you arrive ready to saw.

A setup fee + Board foot Charge + Blade damage charge + labor (provided by the customer.)  

An hourly charge + Blade damage charge + Labor

Perusing the forum, you will find that many of us have listed our charges here.