iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

old muffler stuck

Started by ljmathias, May 29, 2007, 02:49:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ljmathias

Maybe you all have some advice might help- I'm a pretty good mechanic most of the time but this one's got me stumped and I've just about had it. Muffler on my '86 G16 is rusted gone and the noise is about to drive me (and my neighbors over the hill) crazy- ear protection helps but this is getting old!  Muffler was tied in through a shallow elbow which makes it hard- can't just bust that loose cause I could only turn about 1/3 turn before it bangs into the engine.  Can't break the stub loose with anything I've tried so far- breaker bar plus liquid wrench; don't have a torch yet but do have a welder.  My two options are weld on a new muffler (son's suggestion- "it's goin' die soon anyway") or buy a replacement engine (same argument).  Only had 400 hours on the mill when I got it but it sat outside almost its entire life- rough on steel and iron.

Any ideas for a simple fix?

Thanks guys- great forum and my best form of online entertainment nowadays.  Much more fun cutting posts, beams and lumber and building stuff!

Lon
LT40, Long tractor with FEL and backhoe, lots of TF tools, beautiful wife of 50 years plus 4 kids, 5 grandsons AND TWO GRANDDAUGHTERS all healthy plus too many ideas and plans and not enough time and energy

dovetails

can you hacksaw it off, and use muffler adaptor to match size with another one?
or tack weld one to it?
1984 wm lt30,ford 3000 w/frt lift,several chain saws, 1953 model 30 Vermeer stump grinder,full wood working shop, log home in the woods what more ya need?

beenthere

I have a Kohler 8hp engine from a 1964 JD, that had a replacement block put in about 1968. The 1" muffler pipe was not moved since '68. I just had the engine rebuilt (new block) and the mechanic said he wouldn't mess with changing the old muffler over, but that it was still good and original for the restoration. So a dilema.