iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Apple coffee table

Started by Dodgy Loner, May 03, 2007, 12:33:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dodgy Loner

Hey y'all, just thought I'd share a picture of the coffee table that I built for my grandfather for Christmas this year.  It's made from an apple tree that he planted 40 years ago.  It had quit producing apples, so he decided to cut it down and let me have the log for lumber.  I designed the table around the idea of using a natural-edge slab as the top, and I'm pretty pleased with the results.  All of the joinery is hand-cut, and I included a close-up of the through-wedged tenon that holds the legs to the stretcher.  The aprons are lap-jointed into the legs.  The finish is hand-rubbed polyurethane.  (Sorry about the poor quality of the pictures, this is my first time posting a pic and it appears I haven't gotten all the kinks worked out yet)

Special thanks to WDH for sawing the tree into lumber for me! :)

The table:

And the through-wedged tenon:
"There is hardly anything in the world that some man cannot make a little worse and sell a little cheaper, and the people who consider price only are this man's lawful prey." -John Ruskin

Any idiot can write a woodworking blog. Here's mine.

OneWithWood

One With Wood
LT40HDG25, Woodmizer DH4000 Kiln

Jeff

Can I have one?  ;)

Thats a beaut. I really like it.  :)
Just call me the midget doctor.
Forestry Forum Founder and Chief Cook and Bottle Washer.

Commercial circle sawmill sawyer in a past life for 25yrs.
Ezekiel 22:30

Fla._Deadheader

Only thing wrong with those pics is, I can't see the grain detail in that table top. Bee you  tee full job  8) 8) 8)
All truth passes through three stages:
   First, it is ridiculed;
   Second, it is violently opposed; and
   Third, it is accepted as self-evident.

-- Arthur Schopenhauer (1788-1860)

metalspinner