iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Parbuckling winch

Started by Nate Surveyor, April 26, 2007, 02:04:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nate Surveyor

OK, I now have a nice 8 hole rim, double axle trailer.

And it has rails on the sides, made from 2" schedule 40 steel pipe.

And I want to add a 12v winch to it, to parbuckle. One item I have thot of is to make the winch to hang off the side, so that I can use longer ramps. (length of ramps cannot exceed distance across trailer, so extend the across trailer distance)

I will add a marine battery to the front of the trailer, to supply power, and hook up the battery to my truck battery for charging.

I don't want a super slow winch. I want it to free wheel, for faster unwind.

My questions are:

1.) How big of a winch do I need? (I expect to load 6000 lb logs occasionally)
2.) What kind of winch is popular and reliable?

Any kind of help or advice will be appreciated.

I am new to this.

Nate
I know less than I used to.

Dan_Shade

put the winch up front, use a snatch block to direct the cable pull, this will allow you to load left or right.

it doesn't take much of a winch to parbuckle a log, you can move pretty big logs with boat winches....

one thing that is a very good idea is to make a "V" with a chain so that as the log rolls up the ramp, you are supporting the ends of the log to keep it moving steadily up the ramp, instead of having one end slide down.

as far as a winch, I say go hydraulic, or go home ;)
Woodmizer LT40HDG25 / Stihl 066 alaskan
lots of dull bands and chains

There's a fine line between turning firewood into beautiful things and beautiful things into firewood.

Nate Surveyor

I have placed sockets all over the trailer, to place a 4" dia stem, with the winch on top. This way, I can winch from all over.

I kind of like the idea of using a snatch block to adjust the direction of pull.

N
I know less than I used to.

stumpy