iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Hope this is right place to ask!

Started by farmerscotty, February 17, 2007, 11:02:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

farmerscotty

Ok I am getting ready to cut some white oak and red oak trees to sell.  I have a fiat allis track loader to drag logs with, so that is took care of.  Have a buyer for the logs.  Good honest man.  Now what do I need to know?  Tips and tricks?    What about cutting limbs off, how long do I leave the logs?  How small is too small?  Do I just ask the buyer?  I know to ask the buyer somethings.....Last logs was cut they dragged them up and then when buyer came they cut where he said.  Newbie here help!

Scott in Missouri
"A fool lives tomorrow reaching back for yesterday!"

WDH

The buyer or receiving mill sets the specifications.  With most mills, the specifications are in writing and can be provided to you beforehand.  If the buyer is not the receiving mill, you have to negotiate the specifications as well as the price.
Woodmizer LT40HDD35, John Deere 2155, Kubota M5-111, Kubota L2501, Nyle L53 Dehumidification Kiln, and a passion for all things with leafs, twigs, and bark.  hamsleyhardwood.com

Greenedive

Wow Scotty,
Are you cutting them yourself? Do you have experience felling and bucking timber? If you do, then a lot depends on the quality of the trees. If the logs are of high quality, many of the buyers request that you leave them treelength on the landing, so they can determine the best cuts. In quality hardwoods the buyers don't like much of anything below 10" on the small end. If it is a clean log, some will take down to a 9". Yes, definitely, the limbs must be cut off flush with the main stem and any stumpshot should be trimmed to make a nice looking butt.
If you don't have much experience felling trees, you really should consider hiring someone that does. A couple thousand dollar tree can turn into a couple hundred dollar tree in a very few seconds by improper felling.