iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Nubee alert and lifting questions

Started by Woodbender, February 10, 2007, 11:18:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Woodbender

Hiya folks.

New guy on the block hailing from Michigan.  We're long term dreaming of some acreage for harvesting Post & Beam timbers for a Bed & Breakfast.

My background is the design and engineering field and although my first job out of college was designing at a Post & Beam outfit in Ma. I've never raised a single timber. I've been in hobby woodworking for years and my son and I just built a cedarstrip canoe.

I'm fairly confident I can do the milling /kiln drying, I can do the joint work -  etc, - but I have questions on physically raising the frame. Do most of you framers use/rent a crane/boom/hoist - or are most of you using a couple tripods and some winches for the upper story stuff?

I've dreamed since I was a kid to cut my own timbers and raise a house but life kept getting in the way.

Tim Eastman
Tim Eastman (Woodbender)
Be an example worth following.

scsmith42

Tim - welcome to the forum - lots of great and knowledgable folks here.

I have a 60' articulated manlift, which is what I use.  It's nice in that once the frame is up I can use the lift for installing purloins, siding, etc. 

For what I would have spent on crane and scaffolding rental, I was able to buy the manlift and keep it.

Good luck.

Scott
Peterson 10" WPF with 65' of track
Smith - Gallagher dedicated slabber
Tom's 3638D Baker band mill
and a mix of log handling heavy equipment.

TW

Whatever you do: think first, lift later.
We assembled a 14x7 metre two storey loghouse by hand with no problem, using homemade lifts and ginpoles. Then I got my back out of order after stretching to pick up the corner of a tarpaulin when we covered the house for the winter.

There are several competent people on this forum who taught me a lot about rigging and lifting the cheap way. I hope they will teach you the same thing.