iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

HELPPPP!

Started by stumpy, January 20, 2007, 06:09:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

stumpy

I need some expert advice.  This is my first year sawing frozen logs (mostly oak) I have been having trouble with blades. I have broken 3 within the last week and had 4 or 5 "pop" off. I have been using Lenox woodmaster c. I've tried slowing down the feed rate, reduced the set to .015, tried no lube and tried alot of lube(mixure of ww fluid/water/pinesol). One thing I've noticed that I haven't seen before is a buildup of crup on the backside of the blade.  Other than the logs being frozen, there is nothing different about the logs or how I am sawing.  Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
Woodmizer LT30, NHL785 skidsteer, IH 444 tractor

Larry

Check your wheel bearings for play...sounds like one is bad.

And no...I'm not even close to an expert. ;)
Larry, making useful and beautiful things out of the most environmental friendly material on the planet.

We need to insure our customers understand the importance of our craft.

Tom

I think you are right, Larry.  When blades begin breaking, there is usually something else wrong than tooth configuration.  Of course I've put blades on my mill that I mis-ground and the results were horrible.   I think you need to look in the area of guides, band lubrication, tension and maybe wheel line-up.

There is one thing that comes to mind.  If you are using V-belts, and they are worn, the edges of the bandwheel will come in contact with the band. You can tell this because the iron on the bandwheel next to the  band will have shiny spots.  When this happens, bands will break.

Brad_S.

What jumped out at me wasn't so much the breaking issue (sometimes blades all reach the end of their life cycle at the same time) but the throwing issue. When I start throwing blades, it's almost always a tire/v belt issue.