iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Will This Work? Question for chainsaw millers.

Started by Cypress Man, January 12, 2007, 05:42:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cypress Man

I saw a good bit of large diameter cypress logs on a WOODMIZER LT40shd E25.  I currently use a Husky 395xp with a 36"bar to cut the spurs down before cutting them on the bandsaw.  This is usually difficult and time consuming with some of the large swells on cypress.  I was thinking of getting a 66" double ended bar with a helper handle(with roller) from Baileys to help cut down the swells to 24"wide to fit between the saw throat.  Would this be helpfull or faster than how I'm currently doing it ?  I've never used a double ended bar before.  How safe is it?  All info would be appreciated.
LT70 wide head electric, IC5 Power conveyor, transfer table, Stop and Load Log Deck, Catapiller 360B Telehandler, Cat tl642c Teleloader, Cat TH514 Telehandler, Woodmizer EG400 edger, Logosol PH360 moulder, Extrema 26" Planner, Grizzly 16" dual conveyor resaw, Prentice 285 log loader

Tom

Cypress man,
This isn't a direct answer to your question, but is something for you to think about.

The swelled butts of swamp or wet soil grown woods, like cypress, is composed of a different density of wood than the rest of the tree.  I don't know what your market is, but the swelled butts can generate a market of their own.  When sawed as  lumber with the rest of the tree, they present a challenge in drying them to remain in the same plane as the upper portions.  Sawed alone, with a little bit of an artistic eye, the produce what we have called Flame-grain.  It is a distinctly admirable "V" or TeePee shaped grain pattern that is desirable as door panels or, if joined properly, as decorative table tops, wainscoting  and the like.   It might take some marketing if your customers never thought of it, but you may have customer who are already aware and just don't know where to get it.