iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New member says Hello.

Started by Dave_Fullmer, February 11, 2003, 05:20:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dave_Fullmer

Just wanted to say Hi.  I am somewhat new to milling except that I worked with a friend in Mich back in 1973 one winter in his 2 man mill operation.  He had a Frick powered by an old Buda deisel.  Have had logs sawed by others ever since I moved to Tenn in 1982.  
Just got through having a WM saw 12,000 bf for me in Nov and Dec.  I have caught the bug and am accumulating parts to build my own.  

Dave
If it aint Orange (AC that is) it won't run.

Tom

build your own "woodmizer" type mill?   We've got a fellow that has just done that. You will have to start up a conversation with Fla. Deadheader. :)

Welcome to the Forestry Forum!

woodbeard

Hi Dave, good to see another Tennessean here. I came across this site recently:
http://www.linnlumber.com/
They sell parts for bandsaw mills as well as complete mills
Good Luck,
George

Dave_Fullmer

I might have made a misleading statement.  The mill style I have settled on is a 4 poster.  I am leaning on Linn Lumber for the basic ideas for the carriage and mill, but I am designing my own deck and hydraulic log clamp, toe boards and possibly even a log loader.  I still haven't decided on the loader because my initial plan was to set it up stationary, saw some beams  and build a deck to roll the logs off onto the log deck.  I load logs onto my flatbed trailer ( tri axle house trailer) with my Allis WD with a front end loader.  I can easily put the logs on the beams with the Allis.  But I have been wondering if maybe I should consider making it portable and put wheels under it.