iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Boards at Kiln, Help Me Understand What's Next

Started by Trent, December 26, 2006, 01:23:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Trent

I visited a wood tool store and the sales guy told me I need a jointer, table saw and planer. He said this is the equipment I should have to get my dried boards ready to use. I hear people talk about "edgers" What is this about? does it make 2 true/straight edges? If an edger can do this, why buy a jointer and table saw? Sorry, I'm just starting to learn about wood working. 
Can't fish, can't hunt, don't care about sports. Love to build, machine, fabricate.      Trent Williams

Warren

Trent,

I am relatively new to this also.  My understanding, an edger is generally used with green lumber coming straight off the sawmill to take the barky edges off of flitches.  Not necessarily a perfect edge for fine wood working after the wood is dry.  I believe that is where a joiner comes into play to make perfectly straight/square/smooth edges that can be glued up, or used otherwise.

Warren
LT40SHD42, Case 1845C,  Baker Edger ...  And still not near enough time in the day ...

Ianab

If you are thinking about the edgers that are teamed up with a sawmill they are designed to rip the rough edges, bark, sapwood etc of the sawn boards. They are quicker than loading the boards back on the mill and edging them there.
The wood is still green and rough sawn, they aren't precise enough for finished woodworking. After the wood is dried and stable, thats where the jointer and table saw come in.

Cheers

Ian
Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

scsmith42

Trent, let's back up a bit.  What types of boards are you working with, and what is your intent to do with them?  Are you interested in selling S4S lumber, interested in making it for your own projects, hardwood, softwood, construction grade, farm grade, furniture grade, or ???