iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Span, rafter question help...

Started by jpgreen, October 16, 2006, 10:59:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jpgreen

I'm new to construction engineering, and I'm trying to make sense of load and span calculations. I've got specs from The WWPA Online Lumber Technical Guide with my snow loads.

One question is... what would a 4x6's equivalent be in a 2x? Is it as strong as a 2x12?

I have a clear 12' span to cross for an open truck bay (12x26), that will be an extended part of my building, with a gable roof at 7 in 12" pitch. I want to use 4x6's on 24'" centers.  It will stand on 6x6 posts every 8.5'.

Using the WWPA chart for 80lb snow and 15lb live load (for my species) they show 11' 6" span for a 2x12  24" O.C., but do not list a roof pitch.

How far away am I from this with 4x6's? 

If I was to use a 2x6 ceiling joist and a 2x6 collar tie beam above on every rafter, does this substantially increase my span strength?

Or I was thinking of a 2x6 ceiling joist on each side of my 4x6 rafters (across the 12' span), then a 4x6 king post.  Is this necessary?

Sorry for all the questions, but I'm trying to get more of a grasp of this stuff.

Thanks,

Pat
-95 Wood-Mizer LT40HD 27 Hp Kawasaki water cooled engine-

TW

Some thought from one who learned wooden truss design last year.

A truss that consists of only rafters, not tied togeather by ceiling joists at the bottom will spread and collapse forcing the walls outwards. Yoy have compression in the rafters. The rafters are not vertical. That means that there will be a horizontal component pushing the lower ends outwards. (like standing on wet ice with splayed legs) That force has to be taken up by something, for excample a joist or a long bolt from side to side.

With a simple triangular (or kingpost truss) truss there will be both compressive and bending forces in the rafters.