iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Dead Silver Birch tree

Started by Wood Dog, September 02, 2006, 09:54:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wood Dog

I just moved into a new house and ther is a dead medium size (~10-12" diam) Silver Birch tree in the yard.  I do not know how long it has been dead, but it does not appear to be rotted or taken over by insects yet.  My question is...when I cut it down, is it worth taking the trunk to a small sawmill to be cut for lumber?  Not knowing how or when the tree died, what is the chances it will make nice lumber?   I am a hobby woodworker and could use it for small furniture projects...is Silver Birch a nice wood for woodworking? 

The tree obviously isn't green anymore, but I don't know how dry it is yet...it wouldn't be that many boards so I figure I could store them in my garage rafters until they dry out.

Wood Dog

Ianab

Hi Wood dog

When you cut the tree down and see inside you will get a better idea on the condition of the wood. If it's punky and part rotton, then dont bother. If it's still solid wood then it can be sawn into useable boards. You wont recover a lot from a small log like that, but if you have a small scale sawyer in your area he will be able to cut it up for you OK. The boards will need to be stacked on stickers to dry, but there's no reason you couldn't do that in the rafters for a small amount. The stack needs to be well supported, if they dry bowed, thats how they will stay  ::)

Cheers

Ian
Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

DanG