iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

White Pine

Started by Gabby, August 04, 2006, 08:33:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gabby

Hi, I'm fairly new to the business of sawdust so pls be patience. Just got 1850 board ft of fresh cut white pine. 16"-24" large end. My plan is to build a 3 sided shed for the mill (Norwood Lumbermate). The only thing I have sawed so far is cull hardwood logs. Unless I hear otherwise I intend to flat saw initially for the board and baton and cut my 2x6 from the cant including the heart. Will I later experience twisting or any other problems? Any other suggestions would be appreciated. Thank-you
Never enuf time

Tom

Gabby,
White pine, I've not cut.  But, Yellow pine I have.   I can think of no reason to cut pine for vertical grain than flooring, or doors.  It's wearing ability increases with vertical grain (quarter saw) and it's stability is helped for door panels or heavy entrance doors.

Most fasteners seem to be more friendly toward flat sawed pine.  It isn't as liable to split.

Flat sawed 2x4's will place the growth rings vertical in most instances and weight from the top will be less able to separate the grain since it will be in a "shear" configuration.

Knots in flat-sawed pine will usually be round, and if tight, will not affect the strength of the piece too much as long as they aren't too big or open to the side.

When you go for vertical grain (quarter saw), you are more apt to create "Spike" knots.  These can dramatically affect the strength of a piece.

Twisting and warp will depend on the straightness of the trees as well as how good of a job you do in centering the heart (grain) in the board and preventing run-out of grain.  By centering the grain in the board, you will have equal stresses on either side of the center of the board.  By paying attention to the leveling of the log, you will minimize grain runout in the board.