iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Cedar

Started by dad2nine, June 09, 2006, 09:49:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dad2nine

I'm new to saw milling, but would like to know if anyone could help me determine if this a fair price for cedar logs.

$500 per 1000 log foot, logs would be 10" or better small end.

Basicly I'm looking to cut out a cedar deck to go around my pool and build a Gazbo (SP) for the wife...

I don't have a good handle on calculating log yield either. Roughly how many board foot could I expect out of this load?

Thanks for your help...

Radar67

I did some figuring D2N.  :P

Based on a 10 inch log, 1000 feet long, it would cost you .22¢ a board foot using the Doyle Scale. Works out to 2250 board feet. On the International Scale, it works out to .12¢ a board foot for a total of 4039 board feet. On the small logs, you should get a little more than the Doyle Scale.

Now, the question is "Are the Logs worth it?" If it were me, I would ask myself a few questions,

1. Can I afford to buy enough for what I want to do?
2. Can I get them cheaper? ($220 mbf is a fair price in my book)
3. Does anyone close to home carry Cedar already processed? If so, what is their price and how does it compare to this price plus my labor?

You have to make the final decision of if it is worth it to you. I would pay that price for Cedar.

Stew
"A man's time is the most valuable gift he can give another." TOM

If he can cling to his Blackberry, I can cling to my guns... Me

This will kill you, that will kill you, heck...life will kill you, but you got to live it!

"The man who can comprehend the why, can create the how." SFC J

Sawyerfortyish