iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Time frame for drying interior trim.

Started by Sea Saw, June 04, 2006, 02:12:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sea Saw

Hello, I am a newbie to this forum, actually today is the first day I have posted.  I have been reading for the last couple of months and enjoy all the information.  So the question?  I have milled a bunch of white pine and pitch pine for the house that I am building.  The sheet rockers are finishing this week.  I have some boards air drying since early April and I am planing to cut some more this week.  What is the best amount of time to dry these two types of wood before using them for interior trim boards.  I have milled all the boards a little bit bigger than needed to acount for plaining and routering them.  Any help would be appreciated and thank you. 8)

Ianab

Hi Sea Saw

Welcome to the forum.

Best idea is to get a moisture meter, then you will be sure. Ideal moisture content depends on your local envorinment, but you probably want the wood below 10% before you use it.
The good news is that pine dries pretty fast.
For 1" boards, 3 months outside in warm weather should have it down around 15%, then bring it inside and put some fans on the stack for a few more weeks and it should be getting close. You do need to make sure it's properly dry though, or it's going to move and shrink a bit too much once in place.
The old rule of thumb is 1 year per inch of thickness, but thats a worst case thing, like oak sawn in the late autumn might not be dry till next autumn. But warm weather and a faster drying wood will take a lot less time.

Cheers

Ian
Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

Brad_S.

Welcome to the Forestry Forum.