iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Have prism, will travel (not an add)

Started by wmrussel, March 06, 2006, 10:54:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

wmrussel

Hey, any other contract timber cruisers on here?  I've been contracting for over 6 years now.  Good money, but living on the road gets old.  I contract with several companies in the southeastern US and travel from Texas to VA all the way down to FL.  I also carry two dogs with me everywhere. 
My name is William, but people call me Pete.  Long story......

leweee

Welcome to the forum wmrussel ;D
Contract timber cruisen,sounds like a great job...tell us a bit about it & those 2 dogs. 8)
just another beaver with a chainsaw &  it's never so bad that it couldn't get worse.

DoubleD

Welcome to the Forestry Forum this is the best place that you could find on the net
I don't know if there are contract timber cruisers but stay here and probably you will find someone :)
Wannabe a sawmiller

DanG

Welcome in, WMR!  Get in touch if you're gonna be down this way.  Might be an interesting visit watchin' how your two dogs and the eight four-legged ruffians around here get along. ;D :o :D :D :D
"I don't feel like an old man.  I feel like a young man who has something wrong with him."  Dick Cavett
"Beat not thy sword into a plowshare, rather beat the sword of thine enemy into a plowshare."

wmrussel

I appreciate the response from ya'll.  Makes me feel welcome :)

Contract cruising is great sometimes and horrible others.  Mostly it's good, I have to admit.  I say that since it's early spring and this is the best time to be a contract cruiser.  The weather is nice and you have the woods to yourself.  Hunting season is a bit nerve wracking, as you are sharing the woods with armed strangers.  99.9% of the time hunters are nice and helpfull.  I've even been fed and beered and tobaccoed by some hunters.