iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

I need some advice!

Started by WoodChucker, November 06, 2002, 11:21:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

WoodChucker

The County Road Commission guys are cutting some trees along side the road of my property to put in a drainage ditch and bury phone lines.

It's almost a mile long and what there cutting will be stacked on my property for me and cut to 100".  It's all red oak, soft and hard maple, poplar and some really large red pine.

Here's my problem, because of some problems with my health right now, I had to retire my saw mill until spring, so will all this timber be any good by then, will it keep trough the winter ok?

I'm in the Northern part of lower Michigan and and theres already been some snow, but not much.

So what do you guys think? I'm really new to this and don't have a clue my self.  Thanks!

R.T.
If a Husband & Wife are alone in the forrest fighting and no one is around to hear them, is he still wrong anyway?

woodmills1

in my opinion they will all be fine till spring, though an end coating will cut down on checking.  the oak will do great, maple can spalt but probably won't by then, and if it does you can sell it as speciallty wood.  The poplar might be first to rot but I don't think it will in the time.  With the pine make sure it is off the ground and you cut it before the daily average temp is above 70, after that it will blue stain real quick and get full of worm holes.
James Mills,Lovely wife,collect old tools,vacuuming fool,36 bdft/hr,oak paper cutter,ebonic yooper rapper nauga seller, Blue Ox? its not fast, 2 cat family, LT70,edger, 375 bd ft/hr, we like Bob,free heat,no oil 12 years,big splitter, baked stuffed lobster, still cuttin the logs dere IAM

Jeff

Woodchucker the logs will be fine. Your climate is the same as ours and we routinely have logs clear through winter. We have never end coated. Ditto on the pine.
Just call me the midget doctor.
Forestry Forum Founder and Chief Cook and Bottle Washer.