iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

stihl chain tension logic

Started by outdoortype, February 25, 2006, 02:15:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

outdoortype

The owner's manual on the MS310 instructs "Always slacken off the chain after finishing work.  The chain contracts as it cools down.  If it is not slackened off, it can damage the crankshaft and bearings(p.39)."  Does anyone actually go back and loosen their chain after use?  I've never done this on my Huskys & Poulans but I'm new to Stihl.   It would be a huge pain to loosen & tighten your chain before & after each use.  Maybe I'm just misenterpreting the instructions.

beenthere

I never loosen mine, but I don't tighten it real tight when it is a bit warm either. Nor do I believe I run it dull so it builds up heat in the chain, so rarely have to adjust the tension other than sometimes a bit when I sharpen it.  ::)
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Kevin

They don't want you to tighten a loose chain that's hot, just let it cool back down and check it.
I always back the chain off when storing the saw to remove tension from the shaft.

Alta