iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Giant Sequoia’s

Started by KGNC, February 20, 2006, 03:06:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KGNC

Need some advise.
My 10 year old son was looking at my Bailey's catalog and saw that they had Giant Sequoia seedlings. He decided that's what we needed, even after I explained that his great grand kids would still not have the giant tree he wants.
Since I was ordering some sawchains and other stuff from them I spent 20 bucks for the 20 trees. Now I've got them and am looking for advise for planting and growing.
I was considering a southernly facing slope that has good drainage but some west side shade and doesn't receive a lot of the evening sun, but I have other locations. The elevation is about 3600'.
Did a web search and can't really find that anyone has had any sucess in the southern appalachians.
Does anyone have any experience with these trees? Any recommendation on perpaing the soil? Any help would be welcomed.

SwampDonkey

I'm no expert on them, but I don't think your climate is going to be suitable for their growth. Probably too dry, they come from the 450 mile long coastal 'Fog Belt' of the west coast.  A seedling nursery was even selling them out of Quebec a few years back and I tried a couple. They died even before winter came.  ::)
"No amount of belief makes something a fact." James Randi

1 Thessalonians 5:21

2020 Polaris Ranger 570 to forward firewood, Husqvarna 555 XT Pro, Stihl FS560 clearing saw and continuously thinning my ground, on the side. Grow them trees. (((o)))

Tillaway

Sequoia's come from the Sierra Nevada and do well in a dry high elevation setting with deep winter snow pack.  Try them on the dryer sites, they are planted off site in Northern California interior mountains and do well.