iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

What equipment is essential for a novice to have.

Started by cnl390, February 14, 2006, 08:44:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cnl390

I am new to chainsaws, although I have been around them and have used one now and then over the years I haven't owned one until now.  And after browsing around Bailey's & other internet sites I was wondering what gear, accessories, spare parts, etc. are essential must have items.

I have a Husky 353, 20" bar, Husky Power Box case, Husky helmet w/ mesh face guard & hearing protectors & Husky chaps.

I am using the saw around my farm to clear cedar (2-16" Dia.) oak (3-8" Dia.), and to trim trees.

What more, in you alls opinions, do I need in my gear box.

Thanks!

sawguy21

A good pair of gloves and comfortable, durable  high top boots with a non skid sole. I prefer steel toe as I am prone to dropping stuff. I also carry at least one spare chain, files (learn how to use them), and a small first aid kit. If you are felling, you will also need wedges and a small axe.
Do you have anyone that can teach you how to use the saw and fell safely? Stick around here and you will learn tons. There is also lots of other reading material available. Have fun, don't work alone and be safe.
old age and treachery will always overcome youth and enthusiasm

cnl390

All I have to teach me is the manual that came with the saw and this forum.  Are there any good books or videos I can get.

My #1 priority is safety!

Rocky_J

I'll second the file suggestion. Too many saw owners have no clue how to sharpen a saw, or even have the ability to identify a dull chain from a sharp one. Fighting a dull chain is one of the most dangerous aspects of running a chainsaw.

jon12345

I'd suggest a felling belt, they come with pockets for wedges, first aid kits, clip for a D tape, slot for a scrench.  Everything you need is in reach.  Now all you need is your fuel can, saw, and ax.