iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

complete rookie with a dream

Started by fsbigcountry, February 06, 2006, 01:00:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

fsbigcountry

HI eveyone, I hope yall can help me. I live in east Texas and have inherited 100 acres thats pretty wooded. The big pines were cut about 5 years ago, but no pines smaller than 10 inches were cut and no hard wood was cut. So I have lots of pine in the 8 to 12 inch size, lots of oak all sizes ( I don't know what kind of oak but oak never the less) and some cedar. My wife and I want to build a house but she can't work, we are a one income family. We have always dreamed of a log home but never thought we could afford it. I work in maint. at a hospital, am a lic. electrician by trade and haved learned plumbing & hvac pretty good. I  can do most of the work myself ( if my back holds up) I'm 43.  My idea is to buy a portable mill and try to cut my own logs and lumber, thats where I need all the help I can get. Time is not that big a factor. I know nothing about logging, milling, or curing. I have a 35hp kubota to help out but no other tools have been purchased towards the house project. Any and all advice and information will be appreciated. I will be reading and posting on a regular basis. Thanks so much for sharing your knowledge with me.  Frank Sides 

Ianab

Hi Frank and welcome to the forum  :)

Sounds like you have a good start - you have some trees  ;) :D

Small tractor will be OK if you have reasonably flat ground and smaller trees, a logging arch may come in handy too.

There will be lots of opinions as to what mill you should get too  :D

Your back should be OK if you work smart and use cant hooks, winches and your tractor for the heavy stuff.

Cheers

Ian
Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

TexasTimbers

Welcome Frank.