iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Miner Edger

Started by Rick Schmalzried, October 09, 2002, 09:19:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rick Schmalzried

Well I finally got down and picked up the edger from my Brother in Law.  8) I am hoping that I am not getting in too deep on the necessary restoration. ::) But more on that later.  Anyway I felt like one of the 3 stooges trying to unload it from the trailer.

But after much sweating by myself and laughing by my wife I finally got the trailer pulled out from under the edger and the edger setting on some logs.

So now comes the real work that I need help from the forum.  This is a miner edger, built in Meridian Miss, who knows when.

The blade shaft spins freely but the output feed roller needs new bearings.

I have no experience pouring babbet so I am wondering what you would do to get this to spin.  Would I be better to cut the bearing support off and replace it with a pillow block???  If I can get this working, I will have a bunch of working making guards as I am NOT going to risk myself running this as it exists now :-* :-*
_         
|_| .  _ |
| \ | |_ |<

Paul_H

Rick,
I think you have a pretty cool project on your hands.I would love to have one to play with.

Try this link   http://www.soule-miner.com/mineredger.htm

Look forward to more on your project as it progresses.
Science isn't meant to be trusted it's to be tested

ADfields

Hi Rick
Well I would say dont waste your time with the babbet!   A pillow or a flange block is always the way to go on somthing you plan on working.   If I was rebilding it I would put all new pillow or a flange blocks on all the shafts first thing and be don with it, you would never need tinker with it after that!

It looks like you will have a blast with that thing, I know I would! :)
Andy

Bro. Noble

Rick,

Your edger looks about the same as ours.  Ours is a Corley.
If you are down this way sometime you can see how it operates and might get an idea for a guard.