iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Is this guy for real?

Started by ButtonRock, September 25, 2002, 04:35:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ButtonRock

Im new to logging and just had my land appraised by a forester two months ago. He said for $1000 he would mark my boundaries and the trees to be cut with future cuttings in mind. He would send out the appraisal to 30 timber companies to see what they would pay. He estimated I would be payed 150-160 a thousand after his percentage, after the loggers cost and after the cost for trucking. If cordwood was to be considered he would get $5 per cord. He also stated the end result would be 10-15 thousand in my pocket when all is said and done. We have 50 acres of hardwood mostly black oaks with some red ,white as well as some soft maple and hichory. The acreage has never been logged in at least 120 yrs that we know of. We looked at a typical black oak 3 ft dbh that the forester esimated to be worth about $400. He never mentioned the word veneer but continued to say "you have some big ones here". I asked what it would look like when all was done. He gave me an address and I checked it out. It looked like a bomb went off. I could not believe it. In my haste I went out and bought an old skidder thinking of doing it myself. I have no intention of doing it overnight but I just can't see turning my property into a nightmare. After reading some posts it seems I have an awful amount of homework to do before I start cutting . Is this logging? I have talked with several of the landowners in the area and all regret having their land logged. I am beginning to feel like I am getting over my head. After talking with the forester it seemed to me that everybody was going to make money except for myself, the landowner. I want to perserve what we have as well as thin some sections for trails, whitetail feedlots etc. I have no intention of making a killing but just don't want to get ripped. Any advice would be welcome.TIA

Frank_Pender