iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Big question for a first post

Started by Woodhack, December 02, 2005, 02:21:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Woodhack

Hi there. First post and I have a big question. Last week a contractor friend approached me about some trees he's had cleared for a building project. He thought I may be interested in some of the wood because I'm a furniture builder. Free, both he and the land owner just wanted them gone. I went out the day before yesterday to seal the ends since they've been on the ground about a month with no one to look after them. Turns out it's not a few trees but 87 trees of mixed Alder, Oak and Maple. After convincing the owner that they don't want to simply trash the trees, we came up with that I could make some doors, furniture etc. for the house, but the rest is up to me. I'll obviously keep some wood, but will cut and sell most of it as partial payment for what gets built and simply dealing with it. Here's my question...is it even worth for me to invest in a mill to do this myself? I've always harbored the idea of milling my own lumber and maybe supplementing my income as a part time sawyer. The building site has the space for the milling and drying if needed as the project is only just beginning and will take a year or so. The friend has an empty barn that could store the lumber as it came from the local kiln. This may be a good opportunity to get into it. But is the amount just too much? I have no idea how long it would take to mill this much working weekends giving that I start at the bottom of sawing knowledge. The other route would be to just partner up with an existing sawyer, but is it feasible to expect someone to work just for a share? The first step I suppose is to figure out what the possible yield may be and try to estimate what its worth. I really wasn't prepared for this event so I'm heading back this weekend to take a good census on what's there and will try to post pics later.