iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Trailer Plans

Started by jrokusek, November 21, 2005, 05:29:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jrokusek

So now that my homemade, redneck bandmill is almost done I'm thinking that I need some way to move all the logs that I'll be gathering.  Actually....not that many logs...I'm just a hobbyist/woodworker...but I gotta move 'em somehow.  So I'm thinking I want to build a trailer next.

I've got my heart set on about an 8' to 12' utility trailer.  Not super heavy-duty but one that I can use and abuse with logs and the usual stuff you put on a trailer.  Don't know where I'll get the wood for the decking  :D  :D  :D

I've done a fairly extensive internet search for free plans and they just aren't out there.  I've seen some that come from Ebay and they look like they are drawn in MS Paint.  I want some decent plans and am willing to PAY FOR THEM! 

I found a set at northern toolhttps://forestryforum.com/board/index.php?action=position"> Note:Please read the Forestry Forum's postion on this company:  http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?storeId=6970&productId=200308247&R=200308247       I've had good luck with their products in the past - but has anyone ever bought their plans?  Anyone have any other suggestions?  

Jim in Sioux Falls, SD

rebocardo

Here are some free plans, what you buy at northern toolhttps://forestryforum.com/board/index.php?action=position"> Note:Please read the Forestry Forum's postion on this company are not likely to be any better.

http://www.championtrailers.com/UTILITY_TRAILER_KITS.HTM

jrokusek

Thanks for the point in the right direction.  What do you suppose the thickness of that steel angle is - 1/4" or so?  I guess I could get out my calipers and drive around town until I find a trailer and take a measurement.....

I just don't know how thick the angle steel should be.

Jim

sawguy21