iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

For better or for worse...CNC?

Started by Deadwood, November 08, 2005, 09:20:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Deadwood

Let me start out by saying that I am not a sawyer. My family has three sawmills and I have, and can, saw logs into boards, but I still do not consider myself a sawyer. I am a Machinist, and that is a craft I take pride in, throughly understand and do safely. The latter of which I think is just as important as the first.

Unfortunately in my craft CNC Machines have really taken the skill out of the craft. Sure their are true machinists that can do amazing things with these new machines. Orange County Choppers show these guys every week on their show, but the majority of the people that call themselves machinists are really just parts changers. CNC I am afraid is the culperate. I remember my grandafather chatting away with us as kids at the engine house, then stopping in mid sentence and giving the lathe a half crank. He did it because the machine had a "spot that was out". I didn't know what that meant then, but I suspect now it was in the 1 thousanths range! Nowadays, the CNC Machine would drive the bit into the steel and break it because it has no feel, and the Machinsit has no feel with the machine.

My only experience with sawmills has been with a 1901 Lane circle mill, and small hobby bandsaws. No CNC, but I am sure if they are not out here already, they will be soon. So I was curious what a true Sawyer's opinion is on this.

Do you see CNC as beneficial, or worthless? Do you see it as invading most of the sawmills, even the home hobbist mills? Do you think it will improve the sawyer's ability to make consistent, concise lumber, or take away from the skill of a Sawyer? Most of all do you think CNC Sawmills will eventually take away some of the respect that a sawyer now has, kind of like the way CNC machines have done to the Machinist Craft?

Bro. Noble