iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Increase grade by trimming end defects?

Started by Shamus, November 01, 2005, 12:26:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Shamus

Does that work? If you can trim a defect off the end of a board, can you increase the remaining grade in the board, or does it just mean you end up with less board feet, and no gain in grade?

Obviously I am new to this whole grade sawing business...
D&L Doublecut Synchro sawmill, Procut chainsaw mill, John Deere crawler loader,  F350 4x4 flatdeck, 20 ton logsplitter, running Stihls

DanG

I vote "YES"!

Say you're sell your FAS for $2bf, and #2 is $1.50.  You can make a 11ft FAS by cutting a foot off of a 12 footer that would grade #2.  You will be making a $22 board out of a $18 board and heat your house with the residue. ;D
"I don't feel like an old man.  I feel like a young man who has something wrong with him."  Dick Cavett
"Beat not thy sword into a plowshare, rather beat the sword of thine enemy into a plowshare."

Shamus

Alright DanG, that's what I'm looking for! Thanks again.
Yeah, for big leaf maple, the difference is between $1,200/mbf for Select & Better, and $750 for #1 Shop. Now these are canuck bucks here, so don't get too excited. I know that I am getting burned on clears, because they don't pay any more than selects. I am looking for a buyer for my clears...
D&L Doublecut Synchro sawmill, Procut chainsaw mill, John Deere crawler loader,  F350 4x4 flatdeck, 20 ton logsplitter, running Stihls

beenthere

I heard tell of a grader (or a fellow who knew how to grade hardwood lumber  :) ) who would, in the 50's, hire a helper and unload rail cars full of hardwood lumber, crosscut-trim some boards to a shorter length, reload it into another rail car and make good money (actually his living) doing it. Something about being able to buy rail cars of lumber and upgrade it 'in-transit', like drying in-transit.