iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Flooring MC and milling tolerances

Started by jrdwyer, March 25, 2006, 02:18:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jrdwyer

I am new to working with wood products and have a few questions for some of the experienced people here.

This past Fall I purchased and installed 500 sf of R&Q unfinished red oak in my home. It turned out beautiful with the Waterlox satin finish and we are very happy with the overall results.

My questions concern the milling tolerances typically allowed or followed by those who make flooring. Would a flooring manufacturer allow width deviations as great as 1/32" in some of the finished product? I was under the assumptions that .005" would be the norm with today's modern moulding machines. I do know that some of the larger sawmills that I sell timber to maintain .005" on the thickness tolerance of the green lumber they produce.

A second question I have concerns the MC variability of flooring. Most hardwood flooring companies advertise 6-8% MC for their finished product. What range of moisture content would be considered normal in a given batch of flooring. In my case, I had lots of planks in the 8-10% range with lesser amounts in the 6-8%  and 10-12% range. I culled around 10 boards above 12% MC. I used a new Wagner MMC 205 to check the MC during site acclimation.

Thanks in advance.

HORSELOGGER