iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Removing and reconstructing a P&B barn.

Started by Tremel, October 05, 2005, 11:02:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tremel

Hello folks,

It's been awhile since I've been on the board.  I've been working around the farm and still clearing and cleaning.  My goal to build a new timberframe home is still around 3 ~ 4 years.

In the mean time, my neighbor has an opertunity to tear down a post and beam barn.  The beams are all oak and are in really good shape.  The entire barn appears to be in good shape and he wants to move it before the developers toss a match to it.

My neighbor knows that I've been reading and studying timberframing and has asked me for advise on moving this structure.

Since I have never done this before, I'm asking the group this very same question.  The barn is around 30' x40' x ???. 

What is the best way to go about dissasembling and rebuilding this barn.  How do you mark/lable the beams?  Should we reuse the pins, or buy new?

I will be cutting all new siding for him on my mill and new tin will be installed for the roof.  He wants to tear the building down before Winter, but we think we may be able to do it this spring.  This will buy us some planning time.

Any thoughts?
Bill Tremel
Claysville, PA
Collector of Antique engines, Trucks, tractors and hobby farmer.

beenthere

Would be great to have pictures.
Last night I looked at new pics in the gallery, and there were some some of raising trusses with a 'clever' wood outfit that reminded me of a catapault to raise the trusses. Hope the member gets a chance to post a story to go with those pics. But thinking some rig in reverse to take apart the barn might be in order.
Do you have access to some scaffolding to get up to the 'top' ?
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Jim_Rogers