iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Vine Maple (acer circinatum) for pegs

Started by srjones, September 19, 2005, 10:45:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

srjones

Hello All,

I'm new to FF, so I thought I'd introduce myself and ask a quick question.

About me, I'm first time owner/builder building a 13,000 BF timberframe on 6 acres in Columbia County, Oregon.  I've been at this now for nearly 3 years.  1st year, clearing the land, cutting a driveway, logging a clearing, getting the trees milled into timbers.  2nd year, planning the location of the house, digging the foundation, pouring the footing, pouring the stemwall and backfilling for the eventual slab.  3rd (this year) has been mainly focused on cutting the frame of which I'm about 1/2 complete.

I'm trying to use local materials as much as I can, and while I admit the Northcott Wood Turning is really THE place to get pegs, I couldn't justify the cost of shipping my blanks from Oregon to New Hampshire.   So, I bought a Logman TennonMaker and have been turning my own pegs with pretty good results.

So here's my question. Has anybody used Vine Maple (acer circinatum) for pegs?  Up until now,  I've only considered it to be underbrush....but I read that it's pretty hard durable so I thought I might try it.  Any suggestions of how green or dry it should (or shouldn't) be?     The majority of my peg and spline material is Oregon Ash which has a nice blond finish when sanded and sealed.

Thanks in advance,

-Steve
Everyone has hobbies...I hope to live in mine someday.

Jim_Rogers

Welcome Steve.

You're type of wood for pegs isn't a type I'm familiar with, so I can't comment on whether or not it's ok or not.
If you've researched the properties of this wood and it's in the strong end of the maples then it could be ok. You could compare it to other types and see how it actually does compare.

Most peg stock should be somewhat dry. The drier the wood the harder it is.