iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

new starter

Started by hayton1960, September 07, 2005, 11:43:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hayton1960

Please allow me to introduce myself
Jonathan aka hayton1960 (year I was born)
Joiner handyman
tool repairer saw sharpener
I intend to build a frame house, possibly in France (unlike in the UK, excellent land available with stands of good trees at sensible prices ::)) plus I like their cider calvados & chese, and you get very good old tools at their sales especially unusual old axes. I studied the colombage frames there as we used to have a stone house out there. The quality of work varies a lot, but there are still some top carpenters in france
I saw Jack sobons books some years ago, but never took it seriously. I thought it was beyond me. But I think now is the time to plan for it. I am initially intending to build a small 16x12 shed as described in timber frame construction (as are quite a few of you lads on here so it seems!), only, being english, with tying joints. I like the hand tools, am still on the lookout for some chisels.
From what I've seen of this forum, its excellent. Jolly decent show Jim smiley_thumbsup

Jim_Rogers

Welcome Haydon1960.

There are lots of timber framers in the UK, and France. I know a few in each country.
Also, Woodmizer has sold sawmills in each country and you may be able to find a portable mill to come to your site to mill your timbers for you from your own trees.

Are you currently in France or UK? You could modify your profile to show your location and assign a flag for your country, if you wish to.

Glad you help you any way I can.

Jim Rogers
Whatever you do, have fun doing it!
Woodmizer 1994 LT30HDG24 with 6' Bed Extension

hayton1960

Hi Jim, thanks for your warm welcome!