iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Newbie to Forum and a green Sawyer

Started by LumberJack, August 15, 2002, 02:10:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LumberJack

Hello,
I've been milling:D around various sites the last few month's and decided that this was a good place to set up shop based on the posts I've seen and the profile of the members!  I'm new to this sawing but both my wife and myself know that my woodworking would eventually lead to my sawing and drying my own logs.

Right now I'm faced with the task of sawing up two southern red oaks that we downed in my neighbors yard last week.  Both trees are about 24 inches with one tree having good tight/even rings, the other is the same but carpenter ants have infested the pith from the base of the tree up about twenty feet. I'm quarter sawing for grade since I plan to use this for furniture/cabinets in the future; is there going to be a problem if I cut away the infested parts and salvage the rest of the heartwood?

Thanks
John
 :)

Tom

Well, the ants won't like it..... :D

Seriously, salvage everything that you have the patience to saw and don't get hung up on the quartersawing thing.  Flat sawed Oak is pretty too and has  its place in panels.  

Personally, I think that the straight lines of quarter sawed wood get to be boring even when the ray patterns break it up.  Kinda like eating too much candy I guess. Flat sawed provides "Flame" grain and other various interesting patterns.

Glad you dropped in and hope you stay.  We have a good time.......the more the merrier  8)

Frank_Pender

Welcome, Lumberjack,   Nice to have another sawyer in the mill. 8) 8) 8)
Frank Pender

woodman

When you cut it the ants will find a new home and the wood will be ok.
Jim Cripanuk

Frank_Pender