iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Wood fired boiler to power air conditioner/chiller

Started by Buzz-sawyer, June 23, 2005, 03:51:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Buzz-sawyer

Nothing new or novel about this idea.......just need some help in the practical side of scaling it down and making it work ....here are the basics.

Using existing wood fired boiler to run a loop of regulated 160-180 degree water to a chiller.

The chiller is water/ammonia type used in industry, often powered by waste heat.

I AM NOT a HVAC guy by trade but am pretty familiar with plumbing, thermo-dynamics, vac.ETAL.

Any wild suggestions from your own MAD schemes .......or something in this order you have seen somewhere....???

HEAR THAT BLADE SING!

ronwood

Buzz,

I just made a post asking for an explaination of what yopu just described. I bought a Central Boiler a couple of months ago and am in the process of installing it. The model that I have you can control the temperature. Quit interested in the subject.

Thanks
Ron
Sawing part time mostly urban logs -St. Louis/Warrenton, Mo.
LT40HG25 Woodmizer Sawmill
LX885 New Holland Skidsteer

Buzz-sawyer

OK
The idea is to use CONTINUOUS-CYCLE ABSORPTION SYSTEM , the continuous-cycle absorption cooling unit is operated by the application of a limited amount of heat.

This heat is furnished in this case by wood waste. No moving parts are employed.
The operation of the refrigerating mechanism is based on Dalton's Law.

Absorption chillers come in two commercially available designs: single-effect and double-effect the solar powered chillers are venturing into triple effect efficiencies.

absorption chillers can substantially reduce operating costs because they are powered by low-grade waste heat. Vapor compression chillers, by contrast, must be motor- or engine-driven........But there are NO moving parts in an absorbtion system.......the BEAUTY OF SIMPLICITY!

HEAR THAT BLADE SING!

SwampDonkey